Thank you to everyone who attended the 2020 Annual General Meeting at the State Library of Western Australia on 8 November.

This year has been a hard year for everyone, so it was great to be able to meet face-to-face and speak with our members and welcome in our new committee for 2020-2021.

The AGM this year was a very exciting one, but also a sad one as we said goodbye to long-time committee member and past president Doug Ayer, who has decided to stand down this year so he can enjoy his retirement.

Doug Ayre, long-serving WA committee member.

Doug was an enthusiastic committee member and a source of great knowledge, advice and wisdom within oral history. He will be greatly missed. The committee would like to commend Doug for his time and commitment to Oral History WA and the oral history sector and wish him good luck in his retirement.

2020-21 OHWA Committee

President: Kyra Edwards
Vice President: Tracy Willet
Treasurer: Linda Wang
Secretary: Lynn O’Hara
Committee Members: Elaine Rabbitt (Accreditation Workshop coordinator), Janet Baldwin (Membership Coordinator), Lynda Braddick, Susan Hall

Thank you to all the committee members who have decided to rejoin us again this year. We would also like to welcome Susan Hall back to the committee and thank her for joining us.

This AGM was a very exciting one. The committee was able to share its plans for OHWA moving forward and the launch of the new website in December. The committee have been busy at work developing a strategic plan which will be sent out to members in December for comment. Judy Hughes, Website manager for Oral History Australia gave everyone a tour of the new joint website and branding via Zoom. The tour of the website was a great opportunity to look at the new branding and see how our National committees will work together and really complement each other. The committee would like to thank Judy for all her hard work on the website. It looks professional and she has done an amazing job on it. We look forward to working with Judy more in the future.

Following the AGM, the committee welcomed guest speakers Jan McCohan Marshall and Heather Campbell to talk about their project that was done on capturing what life was like working in the old Treasury Building and Land Titles Office in the forties, fifties and sixties.  Thank you, Jan and Heather, it was a great presentation, and everyone enjoyed the grabs of the oral interviews you completed as part of your project.

Thank you again for everyone that attended the 2020 AGM and we look forward to seeing you all throughout the year at our events and again at next year’s AGM. Thank for your continued support.

The OHWA Committee

Skip to content