About Oral History Western Australia

Our aims

Oral History Western Australia (OHWA) is a volunteer-run, not-for-profit body which offers a range of services to its members including events, training opportunities and equipment hire.

The organisation, a state member of Oral History Australia (OHA), aims to:

  • promote the practice and methods of oral history
  • educate in the use of oral history methods
  • encourage discussions on all aspects of oral history
  • foster the preservation of oral history records

Our history

Established on 9 March 1980, Western Australia was the third state branch to be formed under the Oral History Association of Australia (now Oral History Australia) – after South Australia and New South Wales. Yet it was a West Australian, the late Jean Teasdale, who played a key role in establishing the national body in 1978.


OHWA is governed by a management committee elected at the annual general meeting. The committee comprises office holders and ordinary committee members.


President: Susan Hall

Secretary: Lynn O’Hara

Treasurer: Lynda Wang

Membership Registrar: Laurel Smith

Committee members: Dr Elaine Rabbitt (Accreditation workshop coordinator) and Dr Alison Atkinson-Phillips 

Skip to content